Logo, Greater Gaston Development Corporation - Development Strategies
(980) 283-7200
1212 Spruce Street, Suite 203
Belmont, NC 28012

About Us

The Greater Gaston Development Corporation brings the public and private communities together to initiate deliberate growth strategies for Gaston County and all municipalities.

Corporate Governance

The GGDC is composed of over 35 trustee and investor members.  For 2017, the Executive Committee is: Chairman, Joel Long - GSM Services; Vice Chairman, Greg Botner - Wilbert Plastic Services; Secretary/Treasurer, John Lowery - Lowery Financial; At-Large Member of the Executive Committee, Andy Warlick - Parkdale, Inc.; At-Large Member of the Executive Committee, Bob Clay - Coldwell Banker Commercial MECA; General Counsel, Chris Whelchel, Gray, Layton, Kersh, Solomon, Furr & Smith, P.A.  Mark Cramer serves as GGDC Executive Director.

Currently, the GGDC funds (1) Alliance for Growth action plan, (2) Gaston Regional Chamber and (3) Gaston County Economic Development Commission (EDC).

Trustee Investor Members

American & Efird – Les Miller
CaroMont Health – Chris Peek
City of Gastonia City Manager – Michael Peoples
City of Gastonia Mayor – John Bridgeman
David Belk Cannon Foundation – Gene Matthews
Dole Foods – John Phipps
Duke Energy – Martha Thompson
Firestone Fibers & Textiles – Jim Pridgen
Gaston County Board of Commissioners Chair – Chad Brown
Gaston County Manager – Earl Mathers
GSM Services– Joel Long
Parkdale, Inc. – Andy Warlick
Pharr Yarns, LLC – Bill Carstarphen
PSNC Energy – George Ratchford
Roechling Engineering Plastics – Tim Brown
Standard Distributors Inc. – Tim Efird
Wilbert Plastic Services – Greg Botner

Investor Members

Beam Construction – Robert Browne

Charlotte Paint – Doug Bess

City of Belmont – Adrian Miller

City of Mount Holly – Danny Jackson

Coldwell Banker Commercial MECA – Bob Clay

Gaston College – Pat Skinner

Gaston County Schools – Jeff Booker

Gaston Gazette – Lucy Talley

Gastonia Plumbing and Heating - Wes Styers

Holy Angels – Regina Moody

McCannon Rogers Driscoll & Associates – Steve Driscoll

Park Sterling Bank – Janet Sarn

Precision Machine Products – Robert Blalock

Seven Oaks Farm – D. Harding Stowe

Lowery Financial – John Lowery

Wells Fargo – Anthony Ballard

Honorary Members

Fred Jackson, formerly of American and Efird

Fred Padgett, formerly of Firestone Fibers and Textiles

Contact us to learn about our Gaston County growth initiative.